Agency Benchmarks 2026: Margin, Clients, Pipeline and Capacity by Agency Size
Every number on this site comes from this page. Each one shows who measured it, how many people they asked, and whether they were asking marketing agencies or someone else.
Last updated: . Reviewed every quarter, and whenever a new report comes out.
Source: Promethean Research, State of Digital Services 2026 (via published summaries), 119 agency leaders, 2025.
Source: Promethean Research, Digital Agency Industry Report 2026 (via published summaries; full report is paid), Sample not stated, 2025.
Source: SparkToro, State of Digital Agencies 2025, 376 agency owners and consultants, Sep to Oct 2025.
All numbers
| Number | Value | Source | Sample | Population | Measured | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net margin after tax | 13% | Promethean Research, State of Digital Services 2026 (via published summaries) | 119 agency leaders | Digital agencies | 2025 | Secondary |
| Revenue per employee | $163k | Promethean Research, Digital Agency Industry Report 2026 (via published summaries; full report is paid) | Sample not stated | Marketing agencies | 2025 | Secondary |
| Revenue growth vs margin growth | 59% vs 31% | Productive, State of the Agency Industry Report | Sample not stated | Productive customers (skews European and mid-size) | 2025 | Primary |
| Why clients leave | 48% | Setup, 6th Annual Marketing Relationship Survey | 400+ brand and agency respondents | Brands and agencies | 2026 | Secondary |
| Client tenure | 31% / 25% | SparkToro, State of Digital Agencies 2025 | 376 agency owners and consultants | 84% solo to 25 people | Sep to Oct 2025 | Primary |
| Healthy sales pipeline | 14% | SparkToro, State of Digital Agencies 2025 | 376 agency owners and consultants | 84% solo to 25 people | Sep to Oct 2025 | Primary |
| Main source of new clients | 75% | RSW/US 2025 (via Haus Advisors) | Sample not stated | Marketing agencies (from a survey of marketing and professional services firms) | 2025 | Secondary |
| Unbilled work | 57% / 30% | Ignition, 2025 Agency Pricing and Cashflow Report | 273 agency managers and executives | US agencies | Apr 2025 | Primary |
| Invoices 30+ days overdue | 59% | Intuit QuickBooks, 2026 Small Business Late Payments Report | Sample not stated | Small businesses (not agencies)Not agencies | 2026 | Primary |
| Billable utilization | 66.4% | SPI Research, 2026 Professional Services Maturity Benchmark | 509 organizations across 7 industries | Professional services firms (consulting, IT, software, accounting), not marketing agenciesNot agencies | 2025 | Primary |
Rules of thumb
These aren't survey results. They're targets that consultants and operators use. Useful, but treat them as guidance, not data.
50%+
of agency gross income (revenue minus media and pass-through costs) is the agency-wide delivery margin target, with 50% to 60% as the healthy range. Projects should run 10 to 20 points higher.
Where each number comes from
Promethean Research. A survey of 119 digital agency leaders, run in February 2026. The full report is paid; the figures here come from its published summaries, so they are marked as secondary.
Promethean Research, Digital Agency Industry Report 2026. A separate report that maps staffing across more than 1,200 agencies. The revenue-per-employee average comes from its published summaries; the sample behind that specific figure isn't stated, so it's marked as secondary.
Setup. The sixth annual survey of brand and agency marketers, with more than 400 respondents. Setup is itself an agency, which is worth knowing.
SparkToro. 376 agency owners and consultants, surveyed from September to October 2025. 84% run solo practices or agencies of up to 25 people, and 63% serve North American clients.
Productive. An annual report from a vendor of agency management software, based on its own customers. The sample leans European and mid-size.
RSW/US. A 2025 survey of marketing and professional services firms on how they win new business, reported through a compilation by Haus Advisors. The summary doesn't state the sample, so the figure is marked as secondary.
Ignition. 273 agency managers and executives. Ignition sells proposal and billing software, so it has an interest in the topic; the sample and questions are published.
Intuit QuickBooks. A survey of small business owners in general, not agencies. It's used here only for late payments, where agencies behave like other service businesses.
SPI Research. Professional services firms such as consulting, IT and accounting, not marketing agencies. It's the largest public benchmark on utilization, so it's shown with that warning.
Parakeeto. An agency profitability consultancy. Its delivery-margin targets come from working with agencies, not from a survey, so they appear under Rules of thumb.
What isn't known yet
How many minutes a client report really takes at a small agency: every number found so far comes from a company that sells reporting software. Churn by agency size with a published method. Utilization measured on marketing agencies, from a public source. When a reliable source turns up for any of these, it goes on this page, dated.
How to cite this page
Agency Arithmetic, "Agency Benchmarks 2026", updated September 2026. https://theagencyarithmetic.com/benchmarks/